Member login
American Financial Services Association

AFSA Board of Directors Announcement

AFSA Board of Directors Announcement

The AFSA Nominating Committee has approved two new members of the AFSA Board of Directors.

Ofer Alon is the Chief Executive Officer for Quality Acceptance. He currently serves on the AFSA Vehicle Finance Board and the AFSA Independents Auto Finance Executive Group. Quality Acceptance is a privately-owned company that purchases retail installment sale contracts from various types of dealers. Established in California in 1999, they have provided consumers with secured and unsecured financing structures for the purchase of vehicles, furniture, water systems, jewelry, appliances, and home electronics. Ofer is a graduate of Tel-Aviv University and obtained his Master’s in finance from Bradford University in England.

Kristin Karwat is the Chief Executive Officer for Gateway Financial Solutions (GFS). She is Chair of the AFSA Women’s Leadership Council and is a member of both the AFSA Vehicle Finance Board, and the Independent Auto Finance Executives Group. Kristin’s responsibilities at GFS include leading operations and strategic direction with full responsibility for bottom line factors, including long-range planning, financial product management, portfolio management, and employee development.

The Nominating Committee also approved three individuals to replace former members of the AFSA Board of Directors.

Ally Financial, Inc. has transitioned its leadership and named Douglas Timmerman be appointed to the board seat once held by Tim Russi. Doug was appointed president of auto finance at Ally Financial, Inc. in the spring of 2018. He is responsible for developing strategy and driving performance for the company's auto business, which offers a full suite of innovative auto finance products and services. He is also charged with leading the effort to diversify and expand the company’s dealer network and drive digital innovation.

Jim Hill of First Heritage Credit of Mississippi, LLC is stepping down from the AFSA Board of Directors. The Nominating committee approved Mike Culpepper as his replacement on the AFSA Board. Mike was appointed president and chief operating officer of First Heritage Credit of Mississippi in 2016. He has over forty years of experience in the consumer finance industry. Prior to First Heritage, Mike held a long career at 1st Franklin Financial, and retired from the company in 2016 as the executive vice president and chief operating officer. Prior to 1st Franklin Financial, Mike began his career in consumer finance in 1974 with Security Finance and held numerous positions.

Wei Shi retired from Toyota Financial Services earlier this year. Toyota Financial Services nominated, and the Nominating Committee approved, Mark Templin to serve on the AFSA Board of Directors. Mark is president and chief executive officer of Toyota Financial Services (TFS) USA and oversees all of the company's financial services activities in North and South America as well as Australia and New Zealand. He is also chief executive officer of Toyota Insurance Management Solutions (TIMS), the director and group chief operating officer of Toyota Financial Services Corporation (TFSC) and has served as chairman of the board of Toyota Motor Credit Corporation (TMCC) since May 2016.

September 19th, 2019 by

Recent Posts