American Financial Services Association

Transition Tracker | Committee Assignments and Confirmation Schedule

Blog Posts

Transition Tracker | Committee Assignments and Confirmation Schedule


Committees in both the House and the Senate are important because they craft and debate legislation before it heads to the full body for a vote. AFSA focuses on contacting and cultivating working relationships with committee members and their staffs to ensure that access to safe, responsible consumer credit is front of mind at the “ground floor” of legislation.

The 115th Congress is underway and GOP leadership has begun making committee chair assignments. House Financial Services Committee Chairman Jeb Hensarling (R-TX) has named subcommittee chairs: Rep. Bill Huizenga (R-MI) will chair the Capital Markets Subcommittee; Rep. Sean Duffy (R-WI) will chair the Housing and Insurance Subcommittee; and Rep. Blaine Luetkemeyer (R-MO) will chair the Financial Institutions and Consumer Credit Subcommittee. Reps. Steve Pearce (R-NM), Ann Wagner (R-MI) and Andy Barr (R-KY) will chair the remaining subcommittees.

The Financial Services Committee also added 10 new Republican members, replacing those who have left office or have moved to other committees, including: Reps. Lee Zeldin (NY), Dave Trott (MI), Barry Loudermilk (GA), Alex Mooney (WV), Tom MacArthur (NJ), Warren Davidson (OH), Ted Budd (NC), David Kustoff (TN), Claudia Tenney (NY) and Trey Hollingsworth (IN).

The Senate Banking, Housing and Urban Affairs Committee will be chaired by Sen. Mike Crapo (R-ID) who replaces Sen. Richard Shelby (R-AL). (Shelby was required to step down as Chair because of Senate committee term limit rules.) Three Republican senators are joining as new members: Sens. John Kennedy (R-LA), David Perdue (R-GA) and Thom Tillis (R-NC).


Confirmation of President-elect Donald Trump’s nominations for executive branch posts are set to begin on Tuesday, January 10. All confirmation hearings will be aired and livestreamed on CSPAN and may be available on the committee’s websites.

  • Tuesday, January 10: Jeff Sessions, Attorney General
  • Wednesday, January 11: Rex Tillerson, Secretary of State
  • Thursday, January 12: James Mattis, Defense Secretary
  • Hearings have not yet been scheduled for Steven Mnuchin, Treasury Secretary, or Mick Mulvaney, Budget Director.

In an interview with Bloomberg earlier this week, Senate Minority Leader Chuck Schumer (D-NY) said that he saw some trouble ahead for certain nominees because of tax returns and conflicts, the “most troublesome” being: Tillerson, Mnuchin, and Mulvaney, along with Betsy DeVos for Education, Scott Pruitt for the Environmental Protection Agency, Tom Price for Health and Human Services, Andy Puzdner for Labor, and Wilbur Ross for Commerce.

January 6th, 2017 by